Be Fruitful and Multiply

Apple Fruit Tree

In 2012, I started an online church called Christian House International (CHI). In all that time, two people visited my church. I don’t have a pushy personality and I figured I would leave it up to God as to who would attend my church and who wouldn’t. Like a good little Christian, I didn’t fret. Years went by and those same two people were as loyal as could be. They read and liked every sermon I posted. I was happy with that. I patted myself on the back and felt accomplished. You see, my goal in life was to save one soul, and so I felt like I was accomplishing something wonderful by saving two souls. Then I read the verse about being fruitful and multiplying.

There is something about Genesis 1:28

Genesis 1:28

God blessed them and said to them, “Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky and over every living creature that moves on the ground.”

Be Fruitful and Multiply

I asked myself, “Is saving one soul considered multiplying? Two?” The answer is, Hardly!

I was drawn to pause and take note of myself and consider whether or not I was truly serving God as a good little Christ follower is expected to do. I worked diligently on the website, writing sermons and posting them to various social media sites, hoping to encourage more readers. Still, with all that effort over a period of four years, only two people showed up. I was happy to receive them. After all, I was delivering God’s words and they were reading God’s words.

I am growing an apple tree. It is a young tree and this year it produced four apples. With all those branches on the tree, only one branch produced four apples. That’s hardly what I would call a fruitful tree. Genesis 1:28 makes me realize that although I was doing good work, I was not doing enough to be considered fruitful.

Feeling unworthy, I proceeded to delete the CHI website. I deleted the CHI Facebook page. Afterwards, I sat in a quiet place. I prayed. And then I sat some more and prayed some more. Then in the way our Heavenly Father works, I was hit over the head with a ton of bricks.

Revamp! Refine! Redo!

The message came through loud and clear… Don’t try to be all things to all people. Be you! Share you! Share YOUR experiences. Speak from YOUR heart. God speaks to my heart and what He wants me to do is speak from MY heart, because that is where the message lies. He gives me the message that He wants me to deliver to others.

Wow! I get it now. Instead of curating content from other Christ-centered people, God wants me to share the message that He delivers directly to me. He wants me to share His message to you… the message He gives to me… He wants me to give to you.

The New and Improved Christian House International

My church, Christian House International, was established on April 8, 2012. From then until 2016 the church stayed in existence to serve two people. On October 17, 2016 it is now more than just a church. It is a place where people can come to know the word of God through scriptures. I hope to be a vessel that saves more souls. I plan to write more and to be more involved with sharing the message of our Heavenly Father.

This is a new venture for me. I ask that you would join me in spreading the word of God. If you read the future messages delivered and if they move you, I hope you voice your opinion in the comments section. I hope you “Like,” “Follow,” and/or “Share” Christian House International. The more we share, the more lives we save.

May God bless you. In Jesus’ name.

Rev. M. C. Bertrand

Photo Attribute: By Kurt Stüber , CC-BY-SA-3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Photo URL: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/fb/Malus_florentina0.jpg

 

Leave a comment